next up previous contents
Next: Contents

http://www.gfi.uib.no/ nilsg/kurs/klimaanalyse.html
\fbox{
\begin{minipage}{\boxwidth}
\center{
\medskip
\LARGE\bf
Environmental statistics \\
\medskip
for climate researchers
\medskip
} \end{minipage}}

Dr. David B. Stephenson1
Department of Meteorology
University of Reading
Earley Gate PO Box 243
Reading RG6 6BB, U.K.
E-mail: D.B.Stephenson@reading.ac.uk


Dr. Rasmus E. Benestad
Norwegian Meteorological Institute DNMI
P.O. Box 43, Blindern
N-0313 Oslo
E-mail: rasmus.benestad@dnmi.no

Course Aim: To introduce the basic statistical concepts relevant to environmental science and to provide experience in the correct use and interpretation of the various statistical methods currently used in the analysis of weather/climate observed and model simulated data.

Practical Exercises Each topic covered in the lectures will be followed by exercises using real data in practical classes.

Prerequisites Minimal statistical knowledge but some basic mathematics and computer skills will be assumed.


Day Morning 10:00-12:00 Afternoon 14:00-16:00
Monday 1. Introduction (DBS) 2. Descriptive statistics (DBS)
Tuesday 3. Probability Distributions (REB) 4. Outliers and extremes (REB)
Wednesday 5. Statistical Inference (REB) 6. Linear modelling I (DBS)
Thursday 7. Linear modelling II (DBS) 8. Multivariate methods (REB)
Friday 9. Time series I (DBS) 10. Time series II (REB)
(***) denotes initials of the lecturer who will present the topic

List of Course Participants


4-8 September 2000



Participant E-mail address
Jan Kristian Jensen j.k.jensen@dnmi.no
Cathrine Myrmehl cathrine@nrsc.no
Alf Kirkevåg alf.kirkevag@geofysikk.uio.no
Idar Barstad idar@gfi.uib.no
Helge Drange helge@nrsc.no
Nils Gunnar Kvamstø nilsg@gfi.uib.no
Kjetil Lygre kjetil@nrsc.no
Øvind Breivik breivik@nrsc.no
Tore Furevik tore@gfi.uib.no
Jan Erik Stiansen jan.erik.stiansen@imr.no
Odd Helge Otterå oddho@nrsc.no
Lasse Dretvik lasse.dretvik@start.no
Paul Skeie paul@gfi.uib.no
Gard Hauge gard@gfi.uib.no
Vibeke W Thyness vibeke@gfi.uib.no
Even Nilsen even@gfi.uib.no
Kristian Nielsen kristian@gfi.uib.no
Anne Britt Sandoe annebrit@nrsc.no
Knut Barthel barthel@gfi.uib.no
Anne D Sandvik anne@gfi.uib.no
Øyvind Sætra o.saetra@dnmi.no
Morten Skogen morten@imr.no
Ina T Kindem ina@gfi.uib.no
Helge Strand helge@gfi.uib.no
Martin Miles martin.miles@geog.uib.no
Stig Nilsen stig@gfi.uib.no
Øyvind Byrkjedal oyvindb@gfi.uib.no
Mats Bentsen mats@nrsc.no



 
next up previous contents
Next: Contents
David Stephenson
2000-09-02